Monday 19 February 2018

Unesco announces four new World Heritage Sites

Tourists walk in the ruins of the Nalanda University in India (AP)
Tourists walk in the ruins of the Nalanda University in India (AP)

Unesco has announced four new sites for its World Heritage List.

The new sites include China's Zuojiang Huashan rock art cultural landscape, Iran's ancient aqueducts known as Qanat and India's archaeological site of Nalanda Mahavihara.

The World Heritage Committee also selected Micronesia's artificial islets of Nan Madol and simultaneously placed it on the List of World Heritage in Danger.

Made of basalt and coral boulders, the 99 artificial islets of Nan Madol are home to ruins ranging from a temple to tombs dating between 1200 and 1500.

Dating back to the 5th century BC, Zuojiang Huashon rock art cultural landscape straddles steep cliffs in south west China and represents the only trace left of the Luoyue people.

Iran's Qanat system tapped into the alluvial aquifer and transported water underground across vast valleys helping sustain agricultural life and settlements in arid areas.

The Nalanda site comprises the archaeological remains of a monastic and scholastic institution dating from the 3rd century BC to the 13th century AD.

Gathered from July 10-20 in Istanbul, the committee reviewed 27 sites of special cultural or natural significance which were nominated for the World Heritage List.


Press Association

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editors Choice

Also in World News