Monday 19 March 2018

Three candidates disqualified from Rwanda's presidential election

Paul Kagame is the incumbent president of Rwanda
Paul Kagame is the incumbent president of Rwanda

Rwanda's electoral commission has disqualified three candidates for next month's presidential election, saying they did not fulfil requirements such as collecting enough supporting signatures.

Those disqualified on Friday are Diane Shima Rwigara, Gilbert Mwenedata and Fred Sekikubo Barafinda.

Ms Rwigara, who was running as an independent, said last week that local leaders threatened her supporters while they collected signatures.

The electoral commission's announcement comes as Amnesty International charges that the election will be held under a "climate of fear" and repression.

Rwandans go to the polls on August 4.

They will choose among long-serving President Paul Kagame, Frank Habineza of the opposition Democratic Green Party and independent candidate Philippe Mpayimana.

According to electoral laws, independent presidential candidates are required to present 600 signatures, with at least 12 from each of Rwanda's 30 districts.


Press Association

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Editors Choice

Also in World News