Sunday 19 May 2019

Cameron makes it Ladies' Day with cabinet reshuffle

UK Prime Minister David Cameron, centre, poses for a group photo with newly elected Conservative MPs at the Houses of Parliament in central London. Photo: Getty Images
UK Prime Minister David Cameron, centre, poses for a group photo with newly elected Conservative MPs at the Houses of Parliament in central London. Photo: Getty Images
Nicola Sturgeon

Dean Gray

It was very much Ladies' Day at Downing Street yesterday as British Prime Minister David Cameron completed his cabinet reshuffle.

A number of leading female ministers found themselves landing big promotions.

Amber Rudd is Energy and Climate Change Secretary while Anna Soubry and Priti Patel will attend cabinet as small business and employment ministers.

Boris Johnson will not be made a minister but will attend separate Tory "political cabinet" meetings.

Mr Johnson said he would focus on his final year as Mayor of London.

According to the BBC, insiders claim that Mr Johnson will be "integral" to Mr Cameron's team, although it was an acknowledgement that he could not both "run London and a major government department".

George Osborne has been given five more years at the Treasury by voters, after asking them to let him "finish the job" of eliminating the deficit.

Since entering the Treasury in 2010, the UK Chancellor has managed to cut the deficit as a share of Britain's gross domestic product (GDP), and to finally have debt falling.

He may also deliver a second budget for 2015 "relatively soon" to mark his Chancellorship in a purely Tory government.

In a break from putting the team together, Mr Cameron met his team of new MPs and was roundly applauded by backbench Conservative MPs as he spoke to the influential 1922 Committee for the first time since winning a majority.

In other appointments announced yesterday:

Jeremy Hunt remains at health while Theresa Villiers continues as Northern Ireland Secretary

Sajid Javid moves to Business Secretary from Culture Secretary

Greg Hands becomes George Osborne's number two in the Treasury as Chief Secretary

Veteran Tory MP John Whittingdale becomes Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport

Greg Clark is promoted from Universities Minister to Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government

Robert Halfon is named as deputy chairman of the Conservative Party and minister without portfolio

Oliver Letwin joins the cabinet as head of the Cabinet Office while Matt Hancock becomes Paymaster General and Minister for Civil Service and Efficiency

Iain Duncan Smith remains as work and pensions secretary while Justine Greening stays at international development

Patrick McLoughlin has been reappointed transport secretary while Liz Truss stays at environment

Stephen Crabb stays in place as Welsh Secretary

Baroness Stowell remains as leader of the House of Lords and takes on the role of Lord Privy Seal

Meanwhile, Acting Labour leader Harriet Harman has announced the line-up of her new shadow cabinet, filling gaps left by the party's disastrous showing in last week's general election.

Former shadow chief secretary to the Treasury Chris Leslie is promoted to shadow chancellor to replace Ed Balls, who lost his Morley and Outwood seat by 422 votes last Thursday.

And Hilary Benn moves from the communities and local government brief to become shadow foreign secretary.

He replaced Douglas Alexander, who was one of the 39 Labour MPs who was swept away in the Scottish National Party (SNP) landslide in Scotland.

Irish Independent

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Editors Choice

Also in World News