Monday 23 September 2019

Eurogroup boss Jeroen Dijsselbloem quitting Dutch politics

Jeroen Dijsselbloem remains president of the Eurogroup
Jeroen Dijsselbloem remains president of the Eurogroup

Jeroen Dijsselbloem, the head of the 19-country eurozone, is leaving Dutch politics.

Mr Dijsselbloem has been in the country's parliament for 12 years and has been the Netherlands' finance minister since 2012.

Mr Dijsselbloem said in a letter published on Wednesday on his Labour Party's website that he will leave Parliament later this month, but will complete his mandate, which ends in January, as chairman of the eurogroup.

Mr Dijsselbloem said he no longer has "the firepower" to remain in parliament as part of the Labour Party's opposition bloc for the coming four years.

Mr Dijsselbloem said in his letter that Labour "paid the price" at the election for tough austerity measures he pushed through to help the Dutch economy recover from the financial crisis.

The party slumped from 38 to nine seats in the 150-seat lower house of Parliament.


PA Media

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Editors Choice

Also in World News