Tuesday 17 September 2019

Greta Thunberg, Nasa and Fortnite among winners of 2019 Webby awards

The accolades for internet excellence will be presented in May.

A view of Saturn from a Nasa probe (Nasa/JPL-Caltech/AP)
A view of Saturn from a Nasa probe (Nasa/JPL-Caltech/AP)

By Associated Press Reporter

Campaigning teenager Greta Thunberg has joined Will Smith, Nasa, Fortnite and Disney as 2019 Webby Award winners for internet excellence.

The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences announced the winners on Tuesday.

Smith’s The Jump won a Webby for events and live stream video while Disney was chosen the WebbyMedia Company of the Year for earning the most honours across all Webby categories with 32 wins overall.

Fortnite is recognised in the game category, and Nasa won for best overall social presence.

Issa Rae is the Webby video person of the year for using the internet to showcase breakthrough content from diverse creators.

Teenage campaigner Greta Thunberg scored a Webby for social movement of the year for igniting the #FridaysForFuture global movement for climate justice.

The 23rd annual Webby Awards will be presented in New York City on May 13.

PA Media

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Editors Choice

Also in World News