Wednesday 13 December 2017

Troubled band to pick up lifetime achievement award

DUBLIN band Aslan are to be honoured with a lifetime achievement award at this year's star-studded Meteor Awards.

The five members, led by singer Christy Dignam, have been playing venues around the country for more than two decades. Aslan will take to the stage at the huge award ceremony at the Point Theatre which will see performances by Snoop Dogg and his Rhythm and Gangsta band, Bell x1; The Thrills; The Devlins; and Lucie Silvas on February 24.

Dozens of figures from Ireland's close-knit music scene will pay tribute to Aslan's meteoric rise and fall over the past 22 years.

The band members, who hail from Finglas and Ballymun - Dignam, Billy McGuinness, Tony McGuinness, Alan Downey and Joe Jewell, - formed Aslan in 1982. Only four years later, they released their first single 'This Is'. But as their fan base grew during the '80s, they split.

In 1993, Aslan reformed and released a hit single; then in 2001, 'Waiting for this Madness to End', went straight into the Irish Album charts at No 1.

Aslan, who will perform as the closing act of the Meteor Ireland Awards show, will receive the lifetime achievement award at next month's ceremony.

The public can vote for nominees in five categories - Best Irish DJ, Best Irish Band, Best Irish Male Artist Singer, Best Irish Female Artist Singer and Best Irish Pop Album - by texting 'Vote' to 53500.

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editors Choice

Also in this section