| 17.1°C Dublin

Brexit Party will not challenge Boris Johnson's Conservatives in 317 seats, pledges Nigel Farage

The Brexit Party will not contest seats won by the Conservative Party in 2017 in the upcoming General Election. Brexit Party leader Nigel Farage stood down more than 300 candidates after making the decision based on polling which indicated standing in seats in London, the South and the South West may split the vote of pro-Brexit candidates and allow pro-Remain candidates to win. Instead Brexit Party candidates will only fight for seats held by Labour and the "Remainer" parties.

Most Watched Videos