| 11.9°C Dublin

'A nation once again' belted out as Sinn Féin's Claire Kerrane is elected in Roscommon Galway

Roscommon Galway has elected it's first female TD in nearly 40 years.

Sinn Fein's Claire Kerrane (27) was elected on the sixth count making her one of the youngest TDs elected to the dáil.

Roscommon Galway constituency has also made a historic choice by being the first constituency in the history of the state not to elect a Fine Gael or Fianna Fail.

Independent Michael Fitzmaurice topped the poll with a huge first preference vote of 13,077.

The second seat went to the former Minister for Communications Denis Naughton, who was elected on the fifth count.

Most Watched Videos