Style Fashion

Tuesday 17 July 2018

Crowning glory - statement hats for Ladies Day at Dublin Horse Show

Style, elegance and a statement hat gets you noticed on Ladies' Day at the Dublin Horse Show - one of the best dress-up days of the year, writes our fashion editor

Sarah Stephen's ivory crown, €80 for three-day hire, Hat Society; 'Ruby' gold bolero, €139, and 'Heidi' cream and gold dress, €199, Sisters by CK Studio; gold gloves, €150, Paula Rowan. Photo: Kenny Whittle
Sarah Stephen's ivory crown, €80 for three-day hire, Hat Society; 'Ruby' gold bolero, €139, and 'Heidi' cream and gold dress, €199, Sisters by CK Studio; gold gloves, €150, Paula Rowan. Photo: Kenny Whittle
'Eppie' hat, €595, Carol Kennelly; 'Mila' cobalt blue jumpsuit, €270, Caroline Kilkenny Collection; red suede shoes, €49, M&S
'Audrey' feather hat, €450, Carol Kennelly; 'Sarah' crepe dress with waist drape, €475, Tina Griffin; cream gloves, €90, Paula Rowan; gold slingback shoes, €27, M&S
'Polly' ostrich cap, €495, Carol Kennelly; 'Sophie' golder shimmer belt dress, €590, Tina Griffin; cream gloves, €60, Paula Rowan
'Brook' hat, €495, Carol Kennelly; 'Daisy' mustard crepe dress, €590, Tina Griffin; mustard gloves, €60, Paula Rowan; gold slingback shoes, €27, M&S
Bairbre Power

Bairbre Power

I always extol the virtues of a great statement hat to lift glamorous occasion wear and make it Ladies' Day-ready.

By far the biggest attended event of its kind this summer will be Ladies' Day at the Dublin Horse Show on August 9 where the top best dressed prize is a €10k shopping voucher from Dundrum Town Centre.

Ladies come from across the country to enter, and it's very empowering and inspiring to watch women of all ages enter and enjoy the spectacle of everyone dressed up.

Many ladies and gents want to extend their evening and continue that fashion conversation, which is how the 'Continentally Classic' Best Dressed Lady at the neighbouring InterContinental Dublin hotel was born last year.

Their evening event starts on August 8 at 6pm and their style winner will scoop a prize of a seven-night Mediterranean cruise on board the MSC Seaview, flights to Barcelona from Aer Lingus and a two-night stay at the five star Ballsbridge hotel with spa treatments.

For more information see: intercontinentaldublin.ie

Photography: Kenny Whittle, kennywhittle.com

Stylist: Bairbre Power, assisted by Zoe Keane Hair and make-up: Helen Sweeney and Nicola Sheridan using Mud Make-up, Brown Sugar salon, Ranelagh, Dublin 6, brownsugar.ie Model: Teo Sutra, 1st Option Models

Shot on location at: InterContinental Dublin hotel, garden pods and Ice Bar,

Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, intercontinentaldublin.ie.Special thanks to Nicky Logue and Ciara Hanley

Clothes and accessories: Hat Society, Dundrum Station House, Taney Drive, Dublin 14, hatsociety.ie; Caroline Kilkenny, carolinekilkenny.com; Jennifer Wrynne, Powerscourt Town House, jenniferwrynne.com; Costume, Castle Market, Dublin 2, costumedublin.ie; Carol Kennelly, Tralee, Co Kerry carolkennellymillinery.com; Tina Griffin Designs, Killorglin, Co Kerry, tinagriffin.ie; Paula Rowan, Westbury Mall, Dublin 2, paularowan,com; Marks & Spencer, marksandspencer.ie; Debenhams stores, debenhams.ie; Beautiful South, Castlewood Avenue, Rathmines, Dublin 6, beautifulsouth.ie

Weekend Magazine

Style Newsletter

Stay on top of the latest fashion, beauty and celeb gossip in our Style newsletter.

Editors Choice

Also in this section