Wednesday 22 November 2017

Coming of age: Artistry is emerging

Photography by Peter Evers, Styled by Aisling Farinella and fashion edited by Constance Harris

Dress, €450, Eme Vandal.
Neckpiece, €750,
Julie Connellan.
Vintage knickers, stylist's own
Dress, €450, Eme Vandal. Neckpiece, €750, Julie Connellan. Vintage knickers, stylist's own
Top two shots, and bottom left: Dress, €495, Tim Ryan. Medallion (worn in hair), €80, Yvonne Beale. Ring, €105, Merle O'Grady. Underskirt, stylist's own. Bottom right: Dress, €495; neckpiece, €295, both Joanne Hynes. Boots, €2,290, JW Anderson. Socks, stylist's own
Dress, €850, Matt Doody. Boots, €1,100, Nina Divito. Headpiece (made to order), from €350, Michael Leong. Belt, €690, Joanne Hynes. Bracelet, €80, Yvonne Beale
Dress, €1,000, Eilis Boyle. Headpiece (made to order), from €350, Michael Leong
Top, €683; dress, €706; headpiece, €795, all Simone Rocha
Corset, €395; top, €305; skirt (made to order), €2,395; sandals, €735, (Dover St store only), all John Rocha

Constance Harris

I find it fascinating that despite the 10 years of financial boom, it is only now that artistry is emerging. Money made our creativity commercial, confident and competent. But we let go what we were good at -- poetry, mystery, romance. However, in the past year I have seen more stunning shoots, incredible fashion collections and real creative authority emerging, than I have in the previous 10.

Stylist and Off The Rails presenter Sonya Lennon and photographer Christian Amman hope, if they get the sponsorship, to take their short, independent film promoting Irish design to London Fashion Week; if we could only add the stunning work of photographers such as Peter Evers, whose pictures you see on our pages today, and stylists such as Aisling Farinella, I reckon the 'foreigners' would see us differently.

As a fashion editor who travels the world, I've found there is still a disbelieving attitude towards Irish fashion. It's as if they consider us good for moments, but not for permanence. Yes, we have produced Philip Treacy, Paul Costelloe, Lainey Keogh, Pauric Sweeney, John Rocha, Sharon Wauchob, Magee and, most recently, JW Anderson, but weren't they just flukes? What a fluke list, eh?

And what of our talents they don't yet know of? Eme Vandal, Simone Rocha, Merle O'Grady, Nina Divito, Julie Connellan, Loulou Bricole, Tim Ryan, Joanne Hynes, Eilis Boyle, Edmund McNulty, and more.

Then there is the backbone of our fashion scene. Great labels, accessible to the masses due to their wearability and affordability. I am thinking of Quin & Donnelly, FeeG, Michael H, Regine, Fran & Jane, Aideen Bodkin, Deborah Veale and Ella Boo. They are conquering boutiques and high streets across Holland, Spain, Italy, Germany, Russia and Scandinavia.

Today we celebrate our fashion ability and talent as seen by Peter Evers and Aisling Farinella's collaboration, Emergence. Peter used some of the oldest skills in photography and an old box camera to get extraordinary effects, while Aisling selected the newest directions in Irish fashion design, giving them a stylist's twist to match the movement of the film.

I love the fact that recent graduate of NCAD and Central St Martins, young Simone Rocha's work is being photographed in a discerning editorial that also features the work of her dad, John Rocha.

It's a sign of evolution and progress. Traditions being passed down for new hands. Our fashion is coming of age. We are a success story waiting to be recognised. Well, you know what they say -- celebrate yourself if nobody else will.

L

Tim Ryan, Bow Boutique, Powerscourt Townhouse Centre, 59 Sth William St, D2, tel: (01) 707-1763, or see www.timryan.ie

Yvonne Beale, see www.byyvonne.ie

Merle O’Grady, Rebecca Davis, Unit 27, Westbury Mall, D2, tel: (01) 764-5694, see www.rebeccadavis.com, or buy online at www.my-wardrobe.com

Joanne Hynes, see www.joannehynes.com

JW Anderson, see www.j-w-anderson.com

Matt Doody, Powerscourt Townhouse Centre, 59 Sth William St, D2, tel: (01) 611-1966

Nina Divito, tel: (01) 202-4557, or see www.ninadivito.com

Michael Leong, tel: (01) 475-9500, or see www.michaelleong.net

Eme Vandal, see www.emevandal.com

Julie Connellan, tel: (087) 973-2875, or see www.julieconnellan.com

Eilis Boyle, Bow Boutique, as before, or see www.eilisboyle.com

Simone Rocha, see www.simonerocha.com

John Rocha, Havana Boutique, Donnybrook, D4, tel: (01) 660-5432, or see www.havana.com;

Design Centre, Powerscourt Townhouse Centre, D2, tel: (01) 679-5718; JuJu, Greystones, tel: (01) 201-6723, 15a Dover St, London W15 4LR, tel: (0044207) 495-2233, or see www.johnrocha.ie

Photography by Peter Evers, see www.peterevers.ie

Assisted by Stu Bradfield, Mick Flanagan and Tony Kinlan

Styled by Aisling Farinella, see www.aislingfarinella.com

Assisted by Kieran Kilgallon

Make-up by Natalie Kinsella, see www.nataliekinsella.com

Hair by Michael Leong for Schwarzkopf

Model: Danielle Winckworth at Morgan The Agency

Thanks to Wicklow Way Lodge and Annamoe Fisheries

Sunday Indo Life Magazine

Promoted Links

Style Newsletter

Stay on top of the latest fashion, beauty and celeb gossip in our Style newsletter.

Promoted Links

Editors Choice

Also in this section