| 14.7°C Dublin

Winners return for Strictly special


Louis Smith is returning to the Strictly dancefloor

Louis Smith is returning to the Strictly dancefloor

Louis Smith is returning to the Strictly dancefloor

Past winners Louis Smith and Chris Hollins are to return to Strictly Come Dancing - as contestants from previous series take to the floor once again for the latest Christmas special.

The Olympic gymnast and TV journalist will be joined on the BBC One show - co-hosted by returning former presenter Sir Bruce Forsyth - by pop singer Sophie Ellis-Bextor and S Club 7's Rachel Stevens.

The annual festive show has featured a line-up of different talent than the main show in the last couple of years, but bosses have chosen to bring back former favourites for 2014 with the six-strong list of celebrities completed by Lisa Riley and Russell Grant.

Sir Bruce, who bowed out of the show this year, will revive his partnership with Tess Daly for the programme. At the time of his departure earlier this year, he said he would be back for the seasonal special and may be involved in other one-off shows.

Strictly has become a fixture in the Christmas Day schedule and is often one of the day's most popular shows. Contestants will this year perform a panto-inspired routine in the hope of getting their hands on the trophy.

Also returning to the programme will be professional dancer Robin Windsor - reviving his partnership with Riley - after he stepped away from the BBC One contest before the current series began due to injury, although he still makes appearances on spin-off show It Takes Two.

It won't be the first time that former runner-up Rachel and winner Chris have performed on a Strictly Christmas special - both have featured in the festive show previously as contestants and as part of a special group dance in 2012.

Regular judges Len Goodman, Darcey Bussell, Bruno Tonioli and Craig Revel Horwood will each feature in the programme.

The line-up will be:

:: Sophie Ellis-Bextor and Aljaz Skorjanec

:: Lisa Riley and Robin Windsor

:: Rachel Stevens and Tristan MacManus

:: Louis Smith and Aliona Vilani

:: Chris Hollins and Iveta Lukosiute

:: Russell Grant and Joanne Clifton

PA Media