Sunday 18 February 2018

Vanessa Redgrave to receive Gielgud Award for excellence in dramatic arts

Vanessa Redgrave will receive the award
Vanessa Redgrave will receive the award

Theatre veteran Vanessa Redgrave will be honoured with the prestigious Gielgud Award.

The actress, 79, is set to join the ranks of previous recipients including Sir Ian McKellen, Sir Derek Jacobi, Dame Judi Dench, Sir Kenneth Branagh and Lynn Redgrave.

Having starred in more than 35 productions in London's West End and on Broadway, in a career spanning six decades, Redgrave will receive the Gielgud Award for excellence in the dramatic arts at the UK Theatre Awards on October 9.

Redgrave took to the stage earlier this year as Queen Margaret in the Almeida Theatre's production of Richard III alongside Ralph Fiennes.

The Oscar-winner has also appeared in more than 80 films and earned Olivier, Emmy, Tony, Bafta and Golden Globe awards.

Sir Ian, who received the inaugural Gielgud trophy 20 years ago, will also be recognised at the ceremony at London's Guildhall, hosted by Lesley Manville and featuring performances from Clare Burt and composer Richard Taylor.

He will receive the award for outstanding contribution to British theatre.

Established in honour of the English actor Sir John Gielgud, the Gielgud Award has been given sporadically since 1996.

Press Association

Promoted Links

Style Newsletter

Stay on top of the latest fashion, beauty and celeb gossip in our Style newsletter.

Promoted Links

Also in this section