Saturday 24 February 2018

Public service TV award for Downton

The VLV Awards for Excellence in Broadcasting has hailed Downton Abbey
The VLV Awards for Excellence in Broadcasting has hailed Downton Abbey

Downton Abbey has been voted last year's best TV drama programme by members of Voice of the Listener & Viewer (VLV), a consumer group which champions public service broadcasting.

Strictly Come Dancing won best TV entertainment programme.

The VLV Awards for Excellence in Broadcasting 2014 - which are in their 23rd year - will be presented by James Naughtie at a ceremony during the organisation's spring conference in London today.

Martha Kearney and Professor Brian Cox were voted radio and TV contributors of the year and radio critic Gillian Reynolds was awarded the VLV trustees' special award for her contribution to public service broadcasting over many years.

VLV chairman Colin Browne said: "The wide range of nominations proposed by our members illustrate the tremendous quality and diversity to be found in UK broadcasting. Winners tell us they particularly value these awards as they are chosen by the people who really matter - engaged listeners and viewers."

Full list of VLV awards, nominated and voted for by VLV members:


:: Best radio drama and comedy programme - The News Quiz, BBC Radio 4

:: Best radio factual programme - Germany: Memories Of A Nation, BBC Radio 4

:: Best radio music and arts programme - Composer Of The Week, BBC Radio 3

:: Best individual contribution to radio - Martha Kearney

:: VLV Arqiva digital radio station of the year - BBC World Service


:: Best TV drama programme - Downton Abbey, ITV

:: Best TV factual programme - Countryfile, BBC1

:: Best TV children's programme - Newsround, CBBC

:: Best TV entertainment programme - Strictly Come Dancing, BBC1

:: Best individual contribution to television - Professor Brian Cox

:: VLV Arqiva digital free to air TV channel station of the year - BBC News Channel HD

VLV special awards in the gift of the VLV trustees, Roberts Radio and Arqiva

:: VLV Naomi Sargant award - Michael Mosley

:: VLV Arqiva most innovative contribution to the use of digital media - Springwatch

:: VLV Roberts Radio special award - Neil MacGregor

:: VLV special trustees award - Gillian Reynolds

Press Association

Promoted Links

Style Newsletter

Stay on top of the latest fashion, beauty and celeb gossip in our Style newsletter.

Promoted Links

Also in this section