Sunday 16 June 2019

Here’s what you need to know about the KPMG Irish Independent Property Industry Excellence Awards 2018

Pictured at last year's awards are Joe McGinley, winner of the Emerging Talent Award, Irish rugby legend Paul O'Connell and Roisin Lafferty, Kingston Lafferty Design
Pictured at last year's awards are Joe McGinley, winner of the Emerging Talent Award, Irish rugby legend Paul O'Connell and Roisin Lafferty, Kingston Lafferty Design

The fourth annual KPMG Irish Independent Property Industry Excellence Awards 2018 will take place in the Convention Centre, Dublin, on Thursday, November 8.

Entries are now open to this year’s awards so it seemed like a perfect time to shine a light on what the awards are all about. The following guide will tell you what the awards are, how to enter and everything else you need to know.

What is the purpose of the KPMG Irish Independent Property Industry Excellence Awards?

The awards were established to recognise excellence in the Irish property sector and to provide an independent, impartial body to promote the great work that is being done on these shores. It’s a chance for people in the industry to showcase what they are doing, highlight the best examples from the last year and acknowledge the people responsible.

What are the award categories?

There are 11 different categories to enter and you can get a full breakdown of the different categories on the website. This year’s categories includes Community Benefit Project of the Year, Design Project of the Year, Energy Efficiency Project of the Year, Commercial Agency of the Year, Property Investment/Fund Manager of the Year, Residential Agency of the Year, Excellence in Planning Awards, Regional Excellence Award, Contractor of the Year, Facilities Management Project Award and Emerging Talent Award.

This year sees the introduction of a Facilities Management Project category, which awards an individual or team whose facilities management project demonstrates substantial innovation and positive effect on an organisation.

Is there are shortlist for each award?

A maximum of five people will be shortlisted for each award. So even if you aren’t the ultimate winner in your category, being shortlisted for a national award is still an impressive achievement. The shortlist will be published and the shortlisted entries will all be notified by a member of the administration team.

What projects are eligible for the awards?

All nominations for the 2018 awards must relate to projects or activities that were completed between January 1, 2015, and June 30, 2018. Projects of all sizes are eligible as long as they are within the island of Ireland. The awards are open to everyone working in the property sector, from surveyors to architects and from local authorities to financial institutions. For a full list, check out the full list of eligible individuals and organisations.

What do I need to say in my submission?

Your submission should tell the judges why you think you or your project deserves to be considered. Make sure that you explain why your project deserves to win that particular category based on the criteria that the judges have set out.

The team at Grafton Architects won the Overall Award at the 2017 KPMG Irish Independent Property Industry Excellence Awards Centre. Pictured are Gerard Carty and Shelley McNamara, Jim Clery, Partner, Head of Real Estate KPMG Ireland, Yvonne Farrell and Philippe O'Sullivan.

When is the closing date for entries?

Friday, September 28, is the final date for submitting entries so make sure that you get your entry in now and don’t miss out. Judging will begin on October 8 and the shortlist will be announced on October 12. If you are one of the lucky individuals or organisations to make the shortlist, you’ll be notified by October 12. 

How do I enter?

Do you think you have what it takes to win? Simply log on to the website, register an account if you don’t already have one, and complete your online entry. It couldn’t be easier.

Who are the judges?

The judging panel is made up of experts that represent various stakeholders across the industry, government and the wider business community. The judging will be chaired by Professor Brian Norton, President of DIT, and this year’s judges include the likes of Kathryn Megan, CEO of RIAI, Pat Davitt, CEO of IPAV, and Tom Parlon, Director General of the CIF.

What will they be judging each entry on?

Adjudication parameters seek projects that go above and beyond the normal, demonstrate measurable improvement, reflect innovation through approach or technology, appreciate needs and satisfaction of clients, contribute to local community and demonstrate excellence in strategic coordination.

Does it cost anything to enter?

There is no charge to nominate yourself for this award. The only requirement is that your entry comply with all the rules of the competition.

Can I book a table at the awards?

Of course you can. You can book individual seats or tables of 10 are also available. 

The Irish property industry is going from strength to strength, and if you believe your work is setting the standard, make sure to enter. Reflecting the diversity of contribution to the property arena, there are 11 awards in total. To enter, go to the KPMG Irish Independent Property Industry Excellence Awards website.

Sponsored by: PropertyAwards

Online Editors

Most Read on Twitter