Tuesday 21 November 2017

Teams Who Stood Apart: Aga Kahn triumph - a three in a row with a difference

Aga Khan three in a row team
Aga Khan three in a row team

Future generations may find it odd but there was a time when the Aga Khan Cup was one of the most eagerly awaited sporting fixtures in the country.

With the rugby and soccer teams in the doldrums, no team carried the national flag with as much panache as the hat-trick winning quartet of Eddie Macken, James Kernan, Paul Darragh and Captain Con Power.

From 1977 to 1979 even the horses involved, Boomerang, Condy, Heather Honey and Rockbarton were household names.

One year Kernan and Power rode flawless rounds so Macken didn't have to ride in the second round. Another saw Macken produce the clear which won it.

Sunday Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport