Sunday 19 November 2017

Two Irish players nominated for 2016 Six Nations Player of the Tournament

Will Slattery

Will Slattery

Ireland weren't able to win their third Six Nations title in-a-row this spring but two of their players are still in with a chance of winning some silverware.

Halfback pairing Conor Murray and Johnny Sexton were two of the 12 nominees for Player of the Tournament, and will look to emulate previous Irish winners Brian O'Driscoll (3), Tommy Bowe, Gordon D'Arcy and Paul O'Connell in taking home the trophy.

As Grand Slam champions, England have the most nominees with three, with Wales, Ireland, France and Scotland having two apiece and Italy having one.

The award is decided by a public vote, so it isn't the most scientific measurement. Ireland's propensity for hijacking online polls is obvious by looking at the Roll of Honour, with Irish players winning the award six times since its inception in 2004.

France have won two Grand Slams and two further championships in that time and have yet to see one of their players collect the accolade.

Here is the full list of nominees:

England - Billy Vunipola, Jack Nowell and Jonathan Joseph

Wales - Gareth Davies and George North

Ireland - Johnny Sexton and Conor Murray

Scotland - Stuart Hogg and Duncan Taylor

France - Guilhem Guirado and Virimi Vakatawa

Italy - Sergio Parisse.

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport