Thursday 14 December 2017

Swatragh on brink of history


THE much-awaited All-Ireland club camogie championship final takes place this Sunday between Michael Davitts of Swatragh, Derry, and Pearses of Galway in Cusack Park.

The original game at Mullingar on November 5 was abandoned after 28 minutes due to worsening weather conditions.

Swatragh will be bidding to create history by becoming the first Ulster side to win the All-Ireland Club title. 1991 was the last time an Ulster side appeared in a final, when Eglish of Tyrone were heavily defeated by Galway side Mullagh.

Swatragh, who overcame the All-Ireland champions of the last two years Granagh Ballingarry of Limerick in the semi-final, were a point up the last day when the match had to be called off.

Swatragh manager Kevin McNaughton said: "I was happy enough the last day, but we know how dangerous the Galway forwards can be. However, I am confident we will be there or thereabouts at the end."

Pearses, who have two All-Ireland titles from 1996 and '97, will line out with no less than 11 players from those glory days and they also have the same manager in Michael Kennedy.

They boast seven players who played in this year's All-Ireland camogie semi-final against Tipperary. From goalkeeper Louise Curry right up to full-forward Sharon Glynn, they are quite a formidable side.

Manager Kennedy said: "I was impressed by Swatragh, they looked a strong fit side and their defensive play impressed me, but we learnt a couple of things the last day."

Pearses are delighted to have senior inter-county player Carmel Hannon starting this time round. Although she played the last day, she was carrying a heavy hand injury. It means that Lorraine Lally finds herself on the bench.


Ward on the mark



HOLDERS St Kevin's of Dunlavin made no mistake at the second time of asking as they overcame St Peter's Dunboyne in this Leinster VS SFC A quarter-final replay at Dunlavin yesterday.

Two second half goals from man of the match Andrew Ward turned the tide in favour of the Wicklow lads after Dunboyne had led by 1-3 to 0-3 at the interval following a Ger Grehan goal.

Trojan work by Ivan Byrne, Padraig O'Neill, Padraig Russell and Ward sent the champions through for another tilt at the title. Gary Waters, Aidan O'Connor and Sean Moran were most impressive for the challengers.

SCORERS St Kevin's: A Ward 2-0, J Mooney 0-3, P O'Neill 0-2, T Davis 0-1. St Peter's: G Grehan 1-0, G Waters, A O'Connor, S Moran 0-1 each.

Irish Independent Sport Star Awards

Pick our magic sports moment of the year and win a trip for two to London. To view the shortlist and cast your vote click here.

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport