Sport World Cup

Wednesday 13 December 2017

World Cup Countdown - Seven days to go

Only seven teams have won the World Cup, six of them winning at least once while hosting the tournament.

France (1998), Argentina (1978) and England (1966) were the last three first-time winners of football's biggest prize, and each of those triumphs came on home turf.

The only teams to break their duck on foreign soil were West Germany in neighbouring Switzerland in 1954 and Brazil in Sweden four years later.

Multiple winners have dominated the most sought-after trophy on the planet.

Brazil now have five stars on their famous yellow shirts, Italy four, Germany three and Argentina joined inaugural title holders Uruguay on two in 1986.

Of the teams yet to win the World Cup, Spain and Holland are the most fancied to change their fortunes in South Africa.

Press Association

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport