Tuesday 11 December 2018

Russia joins the best of the best World Cups

A look at the other memorable tournaments.

The World Cup in Russia has been one to remember (Aaron Chown/PA).
The World Cup in Russia has been one to remember (Aaron Chown/PA).

By Carl Markham, Press Association Sport

Despite pre-tournament concerns over racism, violence and travel Russia has hosted one of the best World Cups in living memory.

It has delivered plenty of goals, a fair share of shocks – like defending champions Germany exiting at the group stage – and lots of drama.

Off the field appears to have been a resounding success with no hint of trouble as fans enjoyed a party atmosphere and even VAR seems to have won over its critics.

Press Association Sport looks at some of the other top World Cups.

Mexico 1970

A World Cup, fittingly the first to be broadcast in colour, won by arguably the greatest team ever to grace the history of the tournament. The Brazil side of Pele, Carlos Alberto, Gerson, Jairzinho, Rivelino and Tostao is feted still today and Carlos Alberto’s goal against Italy in the final remains one of the purest examples of football at its best. It was a World Cup packed with iconic moments, including England goalkeeper Gordon Banks’ brilliant save from Pele and Bobby Moore’s perfectly-timed penalty area tackle on Jairzinho.

Spain 1982

TARDELLI, ROSSI… and YOU. Were you at the 1982 FIFA World Cup Final? Do you have a once-in-a-lifetime story from the...

Posted by FIFA World Cup on Thursday, January 25, 2018

Brazil fielded their best team since the 1970 version with a midfield of Zico, Falcao, Socrates and Eder but it was Italy who emerged as winners, courtesy of one of the World Cup’s best matches against the South Americans. Paolo Rossi’s hat-trick, on his way to six goals in the tournament, accounted for Brazil 3-2 in the second round with Marco Tardelli’s memorable celebration after scoring against West Germany in the final an enduring image. Elsewhere, Northern Ireland, for whom Norman Whiteside surpassed Pele’s record as the youngest player in the tournament’s history aged 17 years and 41 days, produced one of the shocks by beating the hosts to reach the second round. Debutants Algeria defeated European champions West Germany and beat Chile in the group stage but were still eliminated on goal difference after the Germans and Austria contrived a result which saw them both progress.

Italy 1990

West Germany may have won the tournament but the real stories were England’s progression to the semi-final and Cameroon’s attacking brilliance. It may have set a record for the lowest-scoring tournament but there was still plenty to be enjoyed: BBC’s Pavarotti-led Nessum Dorma theme tune, debutants Republic of Ireland reaching the last eight, newcomers Costa Rica beating Scotland and Sweden to reach the knockout stage – and Cameroon. Roger Milla, officially 38 but with suspicions suggesting he may be older, led the way for the Indomitable Lions as they beat holders Argentina in their opening game with Milla’s corner flag shuffle goal celebration evident as they became the first African nation to reach the quarter-finals. Which is where the dream ended as England, inspired by Paul Gascoigne, booked their first last-four place since 1966. However, the midfielder was remembered for his tears after a booking which would rule him out of the final – which England failed to reach after Stuart Pearce and Chris Waddle missed in the penalty shootout against the Germans.

France 1998

ZIDANE, RONALDO… and YOU. Were you at the 1998 FIFA World Cup Final? Do you have a once-in-a-lifetime story from the...

Posted by FIFA World Cup on Wednesday, January 31, 2018

The World Cup came home to the nation of its founder Jules Rimet and the host nation did not disappoint with their first victory, inspired by a brilliant Zinedine Zidane. Expanded to 32 teams, first-time qualifiers South Africa, Japan and Jamaica were present but the first shock was Spain’s exit at the group stage after losing to Nigeria and drawing with Paraguay. In the knockout phase drama unfolded in St Etienne where an epic clash between England and Argentina saw Michael Owen score the goal of the tournament before an equaliser, David Beckham’s sending-off and Sol Campbell’s disallowed goal took the game to penalties – which England inevitably lost. Laurent Blanc scored the first Golden Goal in World Cup history to edge France past Paraguay, then they beat Italy on penalties and surprise package Croatia, who boasted the tournament’s top scorer in Davor Suker. The final against Brazil was dramatic even before kick-off as Ronaldo was omitted from the team only to be reinstated before the start amid rumours of a pre-match seizure. Brazil’s star striker was clearly off colour and Zidane seized his moment with two goals, followed by a third from Emmanuel Petit after Marcel Desailly had been sent off.

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, a trip to Old Trafford to watch Man United take on Liverpool in the Premier League, tickets to Ireland's home games in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Press Association

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport