Thursday 22 March 2018

World Cup 2014: Rocky road to rio awaits

Group A: Croatia, Serbia, Belgium, Scotland, Macedonia, Wales.

Group B

Italy, Denmark, Czech Republic,

Bulgaria, Armenia, Malta.

Group C

Germany, Sweden,

Republic of Ireland,

Austria, Faroe Islands,


Group D

Netherlands, Turkey, Hungary, Romania, Estonia, Andorra.

Group E

Norway, Slovenia, Switzerland, Albania, Cyprus, Iceland.

Group F

Portugal, Russia, Israel, Northern

Ireland, Azerbaijan, Luxembourg.

Group G

Greece, Slovakia, Bosnia-Herzegovina,

Lithuania, Latvia, Liechtenstein.

Group H

England, Montenegro, Ukraine,

Poland, Moldova, San Marino.

Group I

Spain, France, Belarus, Georgia, Finland.

Other continents

Africa: Five will qualify after the 10 group winners pair off into five play-offs. Concacaf: USA and Mexico are unlikely to miss 2014. They will be joined by one other nation, with the fourth best playing off against the Oceania qualifier. Asia: Australia, South Africa, Japan, China and Arab nations. Top four from groups qualify and fifth best plays off against a South American team. Oceania: Winner will play the fourth in the Concacaf region for a place in the finals.

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport