Saturday 21 September 2019

Two Irishmen named in the League Two Team of the Year

Jay O'Shea. Anthony Devlin/PA Wire.
Jay O'Shea. Anthony Devlin/PA Wire. Newsdesk Newsdesk

Champions Lincoln make up the backbone of the Professional Footballers' Association League Two Team of the Year 2019.

Danny Cowley's side secured the title with a draw against play-off hopefuls Tranmere on Easter Monday.

Defenders Neal Eardley, Jason Shackell and Harry Toffolo all made the XI voted for by their fellow players, along with 15-goal forward John Akinde.

Mansfield have defender Krystian Pearce and Tyler Walker, the on-loan Nottingham Forest striker who has bagged 21 league goals, included as the Stags also hunt down an automatic promotion place.

Bury Irish goalkeeper Joe Murphy is in the PFA selection, joined by midfield duo Danny Mayor and fellow Irishman Jay O'Shea.

Murphy has two Irish caps to his name, while O'Shea has played for numerous lower league teams since leaving Galway United in 2009.

There are, though, no players included from MK Dons, who remain in the battle for a top-three finish.

Play-off chasing Tranmere have 27-goal forward James Norwood named in the PFA side, while Forest Green midfielder Reece Brown also makes the XI.

The players will be honoured at the PFA's annual awards ceremony in London on Sunday April 28.

PFA League Two Team of the Year 2019: Joe Murphy (Bury); Neal Eardley (Lincoln), Jason Shackell (Lincoln), Krystian Pearce (Mansfield), Harry Toffolo (Lincoln); Danny Mayor (Bury), Jay O'Shea (Bury), Reece Brown (Forest Green); James Norwood (Tranmere), John Akinde (Lincoln), Tyler Walker (Mansfield)

Online Editors

The Left Wing: Ireland's fullback dilemma, World Cup bonding and the squad standby list

Also in Sport