Sport Soccer

Sunday 20 October 2019

Randolph named on team of the year

Darren Randolph
Darren Randolph Sportsdesk

Ireland's No 1 Darren Randolph has been selected on the Championship team of the year after 19 clean sheets in an inconsistent Middlesbrough team.

Randolph was the only Irish representative, but Sunderland's Aiden McGeady and Luton's James Collins were selected on the League One team of the year.

Collins scored his 24th league goal of the season against AFC Wimbledon on Tuesday.

Norwich and Leeds have three representatives each on the Championship team.

The Canaries' 28-goal top scorer Teemu Pukki and full-backs Max Aarons and Jamal Lewis are joined on the team by Leeds trio Liam Cooper, Pontus Jansson and Pablo Hernandez.

PFA Championship Team of the Year: D Randolph (Middlesbrough), M Aarons (Norwich), L Cooper (Leeds), P Jansson (Leeds), J Lewis (Norwich), J Grealish (Aston Villa), O Norwood (Sheffield Utd), P Hernandez (Leeds), B Sharp (Sheffield Utd), T Abraham (Aston Villa), T Pukki (Norwich)

PFA League One Team of the Year 2019: A Davies (Barnsley), D Cavare (Barnsley), E Pinnock (Barnsley), M Clarke (Portsmouth), J Justin (Luton); A McGeady (Sunderland), A Mowatt (Barnsley), J Lowe (Portsmouth), J Collins (Luton), J Marquis (Doncaster), K Moore (Barnsley)

Irish Independent

The Left Wing - RWC Daily: End of an era as Ireland say sayonara to World Cup

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport