Sunday 25 March 2018

Question nobody asked - Who are the unofficial world champions?

Aidan O'Hara

Aidan O'Hara

It's international week, which means a delve into the world of the unofficial world championships (UFWC), the phantom tournament created when England played Scotland in the first international match and is passed on -- in the style of boxing -- when the reigning champion is defeated.

Like Brazil (1958), England (1966), West Germany (1974), Argentina (1978) and France (1998), Spain managed to capture both the official and unofficial World Championships last summer when they beat Holland -- who had reigned for a record 21 defences -- in the final of the World Cup.

Spain, however, relinquished their UFC title to Argentina last September when they lost 4-1. However, Argentina then lost to Japan, who have put an eight-game run together, including coming through the Asian Cup unscathed. With two games postponed because of the earthquake and tsunami, Japan's next defence is scheduled against Bolivia in July.

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport