Wednesday 22 November 2017

Question nobody asked - Who are the 'boxing-style' League Champions?

Aiden O'Hara

In boxing, titles change hands once the champion is beaten so, in this Premier League season, the first team to beat Manchester United would be, in boxing terms, the new champion.

That team was Burnley who stunned United at Turf Moor. However, the reign of the newly promoted side would only last one week as they were then beaten by Chelsea, who began the first of two reigns as champions.

Carlo Ancelotti's side first surrendered their crown to Wigan after just two games but Wigan then lost to Hull before they were beaten by Fulham in the next game.

Soon afterwards, the longest reign of the season began when Birmingham beat Fulham in November and embarked on a stunning eight-match unbeaten run in the league which lasted for over two months.

That is comfortably the longest any team has held the unofficial Premier League championship, however, they lost out to Chelsea in January.

The Londoners again surrendered their crown in England's north when they lost to Everton who then beat Manchester United.

However, yesterday's defeat to Tottenham saw them surrender their crown leaving Harry Redknapp's men as the current unofficial title holders ahead of their first defence at home to Blackburn in two weeks' time.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport