Monday 18 December 2017

Why were the Premier League's best defenders all ignored on the PFA Player of the Year list?

The PFA Players' Player of the Year shortlist was published on Wednesday, with defenders absent.

Despite the Premier League's top two sides, Leicester and Spurs, excelling in large part because of ultra-stingy rearguards, the voters didn't deem a single one of their defenders - or any other - as one of the top six players this season.

Here is an alternative six-man Player of the Year shortlist for the 2015-16 season made up entirely of defenders.

Wes Morgan (Leicester)

The Foxes captain and Jamaica international has been an integral figure in their Premier League title bid.


Robert Huth (Leicester)

Derided as a reject of Chelsea, Middlesbrough and Stoke, he could return to Germany's squad for Euro 2016.


Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham)

The Belgium centre-back has been the foundation stone on which Spurs' title bid has been built.


Chris Smalling (Manchester United)

United have conceded the fewest goals, bar Leicester, and Smalling has been a key component of the rearguard.


Hector Bellerin (Arsenal)

He may, or may not, be quicker than Usain Bolt (we expect not), but the Spaniard has developed quickly this season.


James Collins (West Ham)

Started the season as the Hammers' fourth-choice centre-back, but has established himself as an immovable object.

Press Association

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport