Thursday 27 June 2019

The consistent snubbing of Sergio Aguero is one of the strangest things in sport

If you could poll 100 Premier League fans right now and ask them which striker they would love their club to sign above any other, who do you think would come out on top?

Jamie Vardy may be enjoying a career season, while Harry Kane is definitely in unplayable form too, but for sheer constant brilliance, it is a fair bet that Man City's dead-eyed sharpshooter Sergio Aguero would be the number one choice (Gabriel Agbonlahor, like Villa, is rooted to the foot of the table).

Despite a slow start to this season where the Argentine was slowed by injury (although he still found the time to net five against Newcastle), Aguero has broken the vaunted 20-goal mark in league and last night scored his 22nd of the campaign, which was his 100th in the top flight overall.

That he hit such a lofty target in just 147 games (an average of 2 goals in every three games) speaks to how influential Aguero has been since Man City made him the cornerstone of their team in 2011. The striker has enjoyed a brilliant career in England, hitting 20+ goals in three out of his five seasons there, while winning two Premier League titles and two League Cups.

He has consistently been one of English football's scariest attackers - when he is at his peak there isn't a defender in the league who can stop him.

But despite being one of the league's most dominant players, Aguero has been curiously overlooked by the PFA during awards season every year. Last week, when Aguero was omitted from the list of nominees for PFA Player of the Year, Man City manager Manuel Pellegrini expressed surprise that his star had never won the award.

Well if Manuel digs deeper, it becomes a far more egregious snub. Not only has Aguero never won the award, he has only been deemed one of the six best players in the league once since he arrived, in his first season in 2011/12 when City pipped Man United to the title (the year of AGUERRROOOOOOOOOOOOOO!).

Wait, it gets worse. Not only has he been ignored for the individual award, he has also NEVER been selected to a PFA Team of the Year either. On the ballot, the players are forced to shoehorn players into an antiquated 4-4-2 selection, and Aguero has missed out four times in-a-row.

In 2011/12, after winning the league and scoring 23 goals, Wayne Rooney and Robin van Persie were selected.

In 2012/13, after scoring 12 goals, Robin van Persie and Luis Suarez were selected.

In 2013/14, after winning the league and scoring 17 goals, Luis Suarez and Daniel Sturridge were selected.

In 2014/15, after scoring 26 goals and winning the Golden Boot, Harry Kane and Diego Costa were selected.

He has 22 goals in this campaign so far, but if Leicester hold on to win the title, it is impossible to see Jamie Vardy being left out while Kane is likely to be rewarded once more.

Which begs the question, what on earth does Sergio Aguero have to do to finally get some individual recognition from the PFA?

Online Editors

The Throw-In: Why Kerry are not top contenders to challenge Dublin in All-Ireland race

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport