Tuesday 20 March 2018

Sack Brendan Rodgers? Embattled Liverpool boss has better winning percentage than Shankly and Houllier

Liverpool manager Brendan Rodgers
Liverpool manager Brendan Rodgers
Independent.ie Newsdesk

Independent.ie Newsdesk

Brendan Rodgers is feeling the heat in the Anfield hotseat, but his statistics certainly aren't as bad as some other Liverpool managers.

The former Swansea boss is reportedly running out of time to turn Liverpool's struggling season around with Jurgen Klopp tipped by man to take over from Rodgers.

Rodgers remains defiant however claiming today he is embracing the challenge, and under no illusions he needs results quickly, starting at Aston Villa tomorrow.

Read more: Brendan Rodgers: I know we need to get results - I embrace that challenge

Some fans have suggested that Rodgers is the worst manager the club has ever had, but statistically that is simply not true.

The records show the poorest Liverpool manager of all-time, from a winning percentage perspective was Don Welsh. He was in charge from 1951 to 1956 and won less than 35pc of his matches.

Interestingly, having won almost 53pc of his 158 games in charge, Rodgers has a better win percentage than the legendary Bill Shankly (52pc), Gerard Houllier (52pc).

Read more: James Lawton: Brendan Rodgers a dead man walking as Liverpool lose faith

Bob Paisley is easily the most successful manager, winning an incredible 65pc of his 581 games in charge until he left the hotseat in July 1983 after leading the Reds to six league titles and three European Cups during the most successful period in the club's history.

Paisley is followed by Kenny Dalglish (during his first term in charge) and the club's first managerial ticket, Irishmen William Edward Barclay and John McKenna (1892 – 1896).

Current Real Madrid manager Rafa Benitez is fourth on the list, followed by Joe Fagan, with Rodgers just outside the top five.

Liverpool managers with the highest match-winning percentage

Bob Paisley 65pc  (1974 – 1983)

Kenny Dalglish 60pc (1985 – 1991)

William Edward Barclay/John McKenna 60pc (1892 – 1896)

Rafa Benitez 56pc (2004 – 2010)

Joe Fagan 54pc (1983 – 1985)

Brendan Rodgers 53pc (2012 – present day)

Gerard Houllier 52pc (1998 – 2004)

Roy Evans 52pc (1994 – 1998)

Bill Shankly 52pc (1959 – 1974)

Phil Taylor 51pc (1956 – 1959)

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport