Saturday 21 April 2018




In boxing terms, whoever beats the champion becomes the champion so, taking that premise to the Premier League, it makes for a weekly title battle which isn't just between United and City.

United started the season as champions but their first defeat of the season to Manchester City on October 23 saw them surrender the title.

Roberto Mancini's men then held the title until December 12's defeat to Chelsea, which was when things really start hotting up.

Aston Villa's shock win over Chelsea on New Year's Eve gave them the crown but their reign lasted just two days before a defeat to Swansea.

Three weeks later Martin O'Neill's Sunderland beat Swansea but, on February 11, Arsenal captured a phantom trophy by dethroning Sunderland thanks to Thierry Henry's late winner.

The Gunners held the title for six weeks before a shock defeat at QPR on March 31; Rangers surrendered it a week later to the team who started it all, Manchester United.

However, Wigan's Buster Douglas-esque defeat of United on April 11 saw them take the title, before they lost it 10 days later to a late defeat to Fulham.

Everton then became the 11th team to be the real Premier League title holders when beating Fulham 4-0 and held onto it after yesterday's draw against Wolves, meaning next Sunday's game against Newcastle will decide the 'title'.

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport