| 17.1°C Dublin

Prolific Van Persie favourite to land PFA gong

Arsenal striker Robin van Persie will be the clear favourite after being named among the nominees for PFA Players' Player of the Year award.

The prolific Dutchman heads a six-man shortlist revealed by the Professional Footballers' Association for their top award. Manchester City players make up half the shortlist, with David Silva, Sergio Aguero and Joe Hart.

Aguero was also among the nominees for the PFA's Young Player of the Year Award -- although despite his impressive season since breaking into the Sunderland team, Ireland's James McClean failed to make the nominations list.

Aguero (23), who made his professional debut almost nine years ago for Independiente, has made a huge impact at the Etihad Stadium since his club record £38m move from Atletico Madrid, while last year's senior winner Bale (22) could win the young player award after another fine campaign. The winners will be announced on Sunday.

Players' Player of the Year award

Sergio Aguero (Man City), Joe Hart (Man City), Scott Parker (Spurs), Robin van Persie (Arsenal), Wayne Rooney (Man Utd), David Silva (Man City).

Young player award

Aguero, Gareth Bale (Spurs), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Daniel Sturridge (Chelsea), Kyle Walker (Spurs), Danny Welbeck (Man Utd).

Irish Independent