Wednesday 13 November 2019

PFA Team of the Year: Diego Costa and Harry Kane up front - but no Cesc Fabregas

Harry Kane
Harry Kane

The PFA Team of the Year has been announced, with Harry Kane and Diego Costa leading the line.

Chelsea's Cesc Fabregas, who has made more assists than any other player in the division this season, is a notable absentee.

Six Chelsea players have been named in the XI.

Jose Mourinho's men are on the brink of a first title since 2010 and their dominance over the past nine months was highlighted by a cluster of blue shirts in the XI announced by the PFA on Sunday.

The entire back four started the season as Blues players, with centre-back pairing John Terry and Gary Cahill joined by Branislav Ivanovic and Ryan Bertrand, the latter of whom signed permanently for Southampton in February having joined on loan last summer.

Eden Hazard, favourite for the main individual award after a superb season in which he has notched 18 goals for the Stamford Bridge outfit, was in midfield along with club colleague Nemanja Matic, Liverpool's Philippe Coutinho and Arsenal's Alexis Sanchez.

Tottenham forward Harry Kane - tipped to be crowned young player of the year at London's Grosvenor Hotel later on Sunday - was the only English attacking player, chosen up front alongside Chelsea's 19-goal striker Diego Costa.

PFA team of the year: David De Gea (Man Utd); Ryan Bertrand (Southampton), Branislav Ivanovic (Chelsea), John Terry (Chelsea), Gary Cahill (Chelsea); Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool), Nemanja Matic (Chelsea), Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal); Harry Kane (Tottenham), Diego Costa (Chelsea).

Online Editors

The Left Wing: Champions Cup preview, the World Cup hangover and Joe Schmidt's next team

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport