Tuesday 25 June 2019

David de Gea becomes the first player to win Manchester United's Player of the Year award four times

David De Gea
David De Gea
Independent.ie Newsdesk

David De Gea has proved his worth at Manchester United once again by being voted as the club's player of the year.

The Spaniard, who has recently been linked with a summer move to Real Madrid, also won the player's player of the year award which was presented at a ceremony at Old Trafford.

The 27-year-old scooped the main player award, named after club legend Sir Matt Busby, after he was pipped to it last year by defender Ander Herrera.

Goalkeeper De Gea becomes the first player to win the award four times, surpassing three-time winner Cristiano Ronaldo.

Manager Jose Mourinho had said there was no chance of De Gea leaving when asked about a move away from Old Trafford on Friday.

Mourinho, who has guided United to the FA Cup final and a likely second place in the Premier League this season, presented the manager's player of the year award to young midfielder Scott McTominay.

Online Editors

The Throw-In: Why Kerry are not top contenders to challenge Dublin in All-Ireland race

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport