Sunday 19 November 2017

Joey Barton gives a snapshot of his PFA Player of the Year nominations

Kevin Palmer

Kevin Palmer

Joey Barton has revealed his nominations for this season’s PFA Player of the Year award, with his vote for the top prize going to Chelsea’s Eden Hazard.

The Burnley midfielder has long been one of the more prominent footballers on Twitter and his 3.25m followers were given a glimpse into his selections for the awards ceremony that will take place later this month.

Hazard won the PFA Player of the Year award as he spearheaded Chelsea’s dominant Premier League title win in 2015 and his return to form this season has ensured that he is one of the leading contenders to take the prize again this time.

His Chelsea team-mate N’Golo Kante is the bookies favourite to land the prize, with Manchester United’s Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Tottenham’s Harry Kane, Arsenal’s Alexis Sanchez and Everton’s Romelu Lukaku also on the nominations list.

Barton also revealed his Premier League team of the year, with the Tottenham quartet of Hugo Lloris, Toby Alderweireld, Kyle Walker and Deli Alli all making his list, with Liverpool’s Sadio Mane also included.

Alli was also nominated by Barton to reclaim the PFA Young Player of the Year award title he lifted last season.

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport