Friday 19 January 2018

Hazard wins player of the year award

Eden Hazard was crowned PFA Player of the Year last night
Eden Hazard was crowned PFA Player of the Year last night
The outstanding Eden Hazard was one of six Chelsea players to be named in the Professional Footballers’ Association Premier League team of the year

Chelsea midfielder Eden Hazard was the toast of the Premier League last night as he carried off the PFA Player of the Year award.

The 24-year-old Belgian has scored 18 goals across all competitions for his club this season, helping the Blues win the League Cup and putting them on the brink of a first Premier League title since 2010.

Hazard said of his award success: "I'm very happy. One day I want to be the best and what I did this season is play very well, Chelsea played very well.

"I don't know if I deserve to win but it is good for me.

"It is good, it is better to be voted by the players - they know everything about football. This is good. I'm very happy."

Hazard was named in the PFA Premier League team of the year - for the third time in his three seasons in England.

He was one of six Blues players in the XI, along with captain John Terry, Gary Cahill, Branislav Ivanovic, Nemanja Matic and Diego Costa.

Tottenham's Harry Kane took the Young Player of the Year award.

Meanwhile, three Irish internationals have been named in the Championship PFA Team of the Year. Keiren Westwood was rewarded for his excellent form for Sheffield Wednesday with a place in goal while Richard Keogh and the league's top scorer Daryl Murphy (25) are also included.

PFA Team of the Year: De Gea (Man Utd); Ivanovic (Chelsea), Terry (Chelsea), Cahill (Chelsea), Bertrand (Southampton); Hazard (Chelsea), Coutinho (Liverpool), Matic (Chelsea), Sanchez (Arsenal); Kane (Tottenham), Costa (Chelsea).

Championship Team of the Year: Westwood (Sheffield Wed); Martin (Norwich), Keogh (Derby), Friend (Middlesbro), Francis (Bournemouth); Grant Leadbitter (Middlesbro), Ritchie (Bournemouth), Sakho (Wolves), Pritchard (Brentford); Murphy (Ipswich), Deeney (Watford).

Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport