Monday 22 January 2018

Video: Did Diego Costa bite Gareth Barry after spitting at FA Cup referee?

Did Diego Costa bite Gareth Barry?
Did Diego Costa bite Gareth Barry?

Callum Davis

Diego Costa could possibly face retrospective action from the FA after he appeared to spit in the direction of referee Michael Oliver.

The Chelsea forward endured a torrid first half at Goodison Park in the Blues' FA Cup quarter-final with Everton.

The Spaniard was denied what appeared to be a clear penalty halfway through the first period and the frustration was clearly getting to the 27-year-old.

After a series of clashes with Everton's Gareth Barry, referee Michael Oliver cautioned the striker without booking Barry.

The game threatened to over boil as Costa remonstrated with the referee.

In footage which has since been shared multiple times on Twitter, the controversial striker appears to react to the decision by spitting in the direction of the referee.

The footage is far from conclusive, and Oliver did not respond to Costa's bizarre action.

The 27-year-old again clashed with Barry after the visitors had fallen behind to two goals from former Blue, Romelu Lukaku.

The pair clashed heads before footage appeared to show Costa biting the former England midfielder.

After another brief fracas, the duelling players were separated and Costa was duly given his marching orders.

Despite a number of high profile incidents during his time at Chelsea, this was the first time Costa has received a red card since arriving at Stamford Bridge in 2013.

Independent News Service

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport