Saturday 18 November 2017

If Jack McGrath got a retrospective ban for stamping, does Diego Costa deserve one?

Jack McGrath's stamp on Rory Best, left, and Diego Costa's apparent stamp on Emre Can
Jack McGrath's stamp on Rory Best, left, and Diego Costa's apparent stamp on Emre Can
Cormac Byrne

Cormac Byrne

Ireland's Jack McGrath had to agonisingly watch on the from stands as Leinster managed to hold on for a draw against Wasps which ultimately got the Blues a home quarter-final. Should Diego Costa experience the same at the Etihad on Sunday?

Referee Michael Oliver will have to make the decision on whether Diego Costa should be charged with violent conduct over either of this two apparent stamps during Chelsea's 1-0 win against Liverpool in the Capital One Cup.

Oliver will be asked by the FA whether he or any of the officials saw the incident and if they did not, then to judge from video replays whether either of the incidents were straight red-card offences.

If the referee believes either was a red-card offence then the Spain international will be charged with violent conduct and dealt with under the fast-track system.

It would mean that if he is found guilty any three-match ban would see Costa miss Chelsea's game against title rivals Manchester City at the weekend and the matches against Everton and Aston Villa - and there is no right of appeal.

Here are the two stamping incidents:

The first on Emre Can

The second on Martin Skrtel

Costa.jpg
Chelsea's Diego Costa (top) appears to stamp on Liverpool's Martin Skrtel during their English League Cup semi-final second leg soccer match at Stamford Bridge

It will be difficult for Michael Oliver to decide. While most observers believe it was deliberate, you can't really say it without a shadow of a doubt.

In neither incident does Costa look down to see whether he has made contact and in both instances the Liverpool players are in motion.

If you compare it with Jack McGrath's indiscretion, it is clear the Leinster prop knew where Rory Best's leg was and trod on it repeatedly. Best was also in a stationery position.

Watch below:

McGrath was binned in the game and not red carded but subsequently received a three-week ban after being cited.

Does Costa deserve similar treatment to McGrath? Let us know in our poll below:

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport