Ashley Barnes escapes FA disciplinary action over horror tackle on Nemanja Matic
Burnley's Ashley Barnes will face no disciplinary action for his challenge on Nemanja Matic, the Football Association has confirmed.
Barnes put in a full-blooded tackle on the Blues midfielder during Saturday's 1-1 draw at Stamford Bridge, leaving his foot up and studs showing as he made contact with Matic's leg.
Having initially gone to ground in pain, the Serbian ran towards Barnes and bundled him to the ground, earning a red card from referee Martin Atkinson.
Chelsea are reportedly set to appeal against Matic's three-game ban, but manager Jose Mourinho had also suggested that action should be taken against Barnes, who was not even cautioned.
But the FA revealed on Twitter that it would not be punishing the Clarets forward, and explained the rationale over five posts.
They read: "In the vast majority of challenges for the ball, no retrospective action is taken as the incident has been seen by the match officials.
"Retrospective action introduced as deterrent for 'off the ball incidents' [e.g. kicks, stamps etc.] committed out of sight of officials.
"Whole game in agreement that, in vast majority of cases, match officials are best-placed to deal with incidents to avoid re-refereeing.
"In line with this rationale, FA confirm no further action in relation to Ashley Barnes as incident was seen by the officials."