Friday 6 December 2019

Arsenal fixtures 2016/17: Gunners start against Liverpool, Leicester up second in possible Jamie Vardy showdown

Arsene Wenger
Arsene Wenger

Jack de Menezes

Arsenal have been handed a difficult start to the 2016/17 Premier League season as they welcome Liverpool to the Emirates Stadium, having once again been awarded a home tie to kick-off the new campaign.

The Gunners actually played Liverpool in the opening fixture of the 2010/11 season, with the teams drawing 1-1, and with both sides already moving to strengthen their squads in the transfer window, it could be one of the most exciting curtain-raisers in recent memory.

As if that wasn't hard enough for Arsenal, they then face a trip to the King Power Stadium to take on reigning Premier League champions Leicester City.

The match could well be a controversial one, given Arsenal have made a £20m offer for Leicester striker Jamie Vardy to activate his buy-out clause. The England striker is not expected to make a decision until he returns from Euro 2016.

Here are some of the highlights from Arsenal's fixture list to look out for:

First game

Arsenal will face Liverpool at the Emirates Stadium on the 13 August 2016.

Last game

Arsenal will play against Everton at Goodison Park on the 21 May 2017.

Games against biggest rivals

Tottenham: 05 November (H), 29 April (A)

Chelsea: 24 September (H), 04 February (A)

Manchester United: 19 November (A), 06 May (H)

Over the festive period

Arsenal will play over the festive period West Brom on Boxing Day, Crystal Palace on the 31 December and Bournemouth in the New Year.


Full fixture list




13: Liverpool (h)


20: Leicester City (a)


27:  Watford (a)




10: Southampton (h)


17: Hull City (a)


24: Chelsea (h)




01: Burnley (a)


15: Swansea City (h)


22: Middlesbrough (h)


29: Sunderland (a)




05: Tottenham Hotspur (h)


19: Manchester United (a)


26: A.F.C. Bournemouth (h)




03: West Ham United (a)


10: Stoke City (h)


14: Everton (a)


17: Manchester City (a)


26: West Bromwich Albion (h)


31: Crystal Palace (h)




02: A.F.C. Bournemouth (a)


14: Swansea City (a)


21: Burnley (h)


31: Watford (h)




04: Chelsea (a)


11: Hull City (h)


25: Southampton (a)




04: Liverpool (a)


11: Leicester City (h)


18: West Bromwich Albion (a)




01: Manchester City (h)


04: West Ham United (h)


08: Crystal Palace (a)


15: Middlesbrough (a)


22: Sunderland (h)


29: Tottenham Hotspur (a)




06: Manchester United (h)


13: Stoke City (a)


21: Everton (h)

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, tickets to Ireland's against Scotland in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Independent News Service

The Left Wing: The problem with the Champions Cup, the Stephen Larkham effect and trouble in Welsh rugby

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport