Tuesday 20 March 2018

Barcelona and Real Madrid dominate Fifa Team of the Year

Mark Critchley

Fifa has announced the Fifpro World XI for the last calendar year at their annual Ballon d’Or awards ceremony in Zurich.

The award recognises the best eleven players in the world over the course of the 12 twelve months and is voted for by fellow professionals.

Unsurprisingly, this year’s edition features four Barcelona players, after they claimed the La Liga, Copa del Rey and Champions League titles. Lionel Messi joins Neymar, Dani Alves and Andres Iniesta in the side.

In the second half of 2015, they continued to dominate the domestic scene, won the Club World Cup in December and Luis Enrique’s side remain favourites to become European champions again this season.

Real Madrid also have four players named in the side, despite falling short of the historic rivals and failing to claim any silverware in the last calendar year. Cristiano Ronaldo is named alongisde Sergio Ramos, Marcelo and Luka Modric.

(© Independent News Service)

Independent News Service

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport