Wednesday 16 January 2019

Manager changes at 10-year high in Premier League

Mark Hughes was the seventh managerial casualty of the Premier League season
Mark Hughes was the seventh managerial casualty of the Premier League season

Premier League managerial changes are at a 10-year high after Stoke sacked Mark Hughes over the weekend.

The Welshman's future had been the subject of speculation for some time and the FA Cup third-round exit to League Two Coventry proved the final straw for the club's owners.

He became the seventh manager to lose his job in the Premier League this season, the most by this stage of the campaign since the 2007-08 season.

That year saw Jose Mourinho's first spell at Chelsea over by September, before Bolton and Tottenham sacked Sammy Lee and Martin Jol respectively in October.

November brought a host of changes, with Chris Hutchings axed by Wigan and Steve Bruce leaving Birmingham to replace him before Billy Davies lost his job at Derby.

Fulham parted company with Lawrie Sanchez just before Christmas, the seventh change of the season, and the eighth came on January 9 when Newcastle sacked Sam Allardyce.

This season's sackings started early as Crystal Palace ended their Frank de Boer experiment just four games in.

Leicester and Everton moved on from Craig Shakespeare and Ronald Koeman in October, November brought the end for Slaven Bilic at West Ham and Tony Pulis at West Brom, and Swansea sacked Paul Clement in December before Hughes fell on January 6.

Last season had witnessed only four changes by this point of the season, two of those at Swansea - though a remarkable eight teams had begun the season under new management compared to the end of the previous campaign.

There were five changes up to and including January in 2015-16 and six in both 2013-14 and 2008-09.

Press Association

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport