Monday 19 February 2018

Leicester's title shock wave is not the first to rock football

Leicester celebrate during their 2-2 draw with West Ham in April, which took them closer to a stunning title victory
Leicester celebrate during their 2-2 draw with West Ham in April, which took them closer to a stunning title victory

Leicester have claimed an improbable Barclays Premier League title after being 5,000-1 to win the crown at the start of the season, with manager Claudio Ranieri one of the favourites to be the first sacked.

But they have entered history with their victory and here Press Association Sport looks at the other teams who upset the establishment to win their divisions.


The idea of a newly-promoted team securing the English top tier title seemed absurd but Forest achieved it in 1978.

Under Brian Clough they finished third in the Second Division the season before, ahead of Bolton and Blackpool by just a point.

But led by Martin O'Neill, Peter Shilton, Peter Withe and John McGovern they took the title by seven points ahead of Liverpool. It was a season where Leicester finished bottom. Forest also won the League Cup that season and - a year later - became champions of Europe.


Currently bottom of Serie A and relegated with just four wins from 36 games, Verona pulled off a major shock to claim the title in 1985.

They had finished fourth and sixth in Serie A in their first seasons after being promoted in 1982. A 1-1 draw against Atalanta secured the title with a game to spare, four points clear of Torino with Inter Milan third and Sampdoria fourth.

It remains Verona's only Serie A title and they ended an 11-year top flight absence with promotion in 2013.


Monaco, St Etienne and Bordeaux had won the French title as promoted clubs but Montpellier's Ligue 1 triumph in 2012 eclipsed them after the landscape changed following heavy investment at Paris St Germain.

The Qatari takeover of the club in 2011 saw them sign Javier Pastore, Thiago Motta and Alex that summer but Montpellier shocked the newly rich side, winning the title by three points.

They had finished 2010-11 a lowly 14th - the same spot Leicester ended last season - and just three points above the relegation zone.


Atletico ended nine years of Barcelona and Real Madrid title dominance when they claimed the Primera Division title two years ago.

It was their first title since 1996 and 10th in their history after a 1-1 draw at the Nou Camp confirmed their crown, ensuring they finished three points clear of Barca and their city rivals.

Diego Simeone's side lost only four times all season, conceding just 26 goals in 38 league games and beat Real 1-0 in the Bernabeu in September.

Press Association

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport