Friday 20 July 2018

Keeper Hanley is the hero as Galway knock out holders

Galway United 0- 0 Dundalk (Galway United win 4-2 on penalties)

Galway's Jake Keegan battles George Poynton of Dundalk, in the air
Galway's Jake Keegan battles George Poynton of Dundalk, in the air
Galway United's Sam Oji has his header on goal blocked by Dundalk's Paddy Barrett
Galway United's Colm Horgan wheels away in celebration after scoring the winning penalty
Galway United goalkeeper Ger Hanley passionately celebrates saving a penalty
Galway United players celebrate after their penalty shoot-out victory

Daragh Small

Goalkeeper Ger Hanley was the hero as Galway United knocked holders Dundalk out of the EA Sports Cup at Eamonn Deacy Park.

Hanley saved the first two spot-kicks as the home side advanced to meet St Pat’s in the final on penalties. Hanley denied Ronan Finn and David McMilland to send Galway on their way as Stephen Walsh, David O’Leary, Jake Keegan and Colm Horgan converted.

President Michael D Higgins and FAI chief executive John Delaney were in attendance but they got little to entertain them in a dull opening half where chances were far and few between.

Dundalk boss Stephen Kenny rested a number of players including top scorer Richie Towell and skipper Stephen O’Donnell, while injury-ravaged Galway had just four players on the bench.

Galway, bidding to reach their first cup final since 1997, grew in confidence in the second half with Stephen Walsh impressing.

They almost hit the front on 61 minutes but Dundalk ‘keeper Gabriel Sava did well to deny Gary Shanahan. But Dundalk looked more dangerous going forward and Hanley did well to save from Shane Grimes 16 minutes from time.

Jake Keegan hit the woodwork for Galway late on as Tommy Dunne’s men continued to match the league champions as the game headed into extra-time. Both sides had chances to snatch a winner but neither could break the deadlock.

Galway United – Hanley; Horgan, Oji, Cantwell, Raftery; Molloy (O’Leary 76), Sinnott, Byrne, Shanahan; Walsh, Keegan.

Dundalk – Sava; Gannon, Barrett, Finnegan, Grimes; Poynton, McDonald (McMillan 61); Mountney, Finn, Meenan; Byrne (Horgan 71).

Ref – R Matthews (Mullingar)

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport