Sunday 20 October 2019

Hyland the hero as 'keeper saves three penalties in Shamrock Rovers shootout win

Jamie Moore

Goalkeeper Craig Hyland was the hero for Shamrock Rovers as they advanced to the semi-finals of the EA Sports Cup with a penalty shootout win over First Division Shelbourne at Tolka Park on Monday.

Hyland save three penalties to help his team win the shootout 3-2 after a 1-1 draw.

Shels had beaten Bohemians on penalties in the last round, and Danny North’s own goal had given them the lead in the 28th minute, after he sliced Lorcan Shannon’s low corner into his own net.

They should have been 2-0 up at the break, but Shannon’s shot crashed off the crossbar.

The excellent Dean Clarke, who had come on at half time, equalised for Pat Fenlon’s team after an hour, driving his low shot into the bottom corner having been set up by Pat Cregg.

Both teams had chances to win it in normal time and extra time, former Red Sean Heaney hit the crossbar before a bobble put off Carl Walshe after he was put through one on one with Hyland by Dylan Grimes, but he sliced his shot badly wide.

The game could have turned in Shels’ favour three minutes before the end of normal time, when Rob Cornwall’s foul on Robbie Duggan earned him a second yellow card.

Kevin Doherty’s team pushed for a winner against the ten men but looked again to depend on penalties to advance.

Jamie Doyle and Clarke both scored in the shootout to make it 1-1, before Shels missed their next two, Hyland diving to his right on both occasions to stop efforts from Daire Doyle and Bobby O’Reilly.

North and Cregg both converted for Rovers, as did Mark Sandford for Shels, before Brandon Miele had the chance to win it for the Hoops, but hit the crossbar.

James English then had to score to keep Shels in it, but Hyland saved again to send Pat Fenlon’s team into the last four.

Shelbourne – Greg Murray; Robbie Duggan, Conor Keeley (Aidan Collins, 53), Ryan Robinson, Alan Kehoe; Lorcan Shannon (Jamie Doyle, 94), Daire Doyle, Bobby O’Reilly, Carl Walshe; Dylan Grimes (Mark Sandford, 116); James English.

Shamrock Rovers – Craig Hyland; Shane Hanney, Rob Cornwall, Max Blanchard (Dave Webster, 70), Sean Heaney; Gareth McCaffrey (Sean Boyd, 46), Pat Cregg, Richie Purdy, Trevor Clarke (Dean Clarke, 46); Brandon Miele; Danny North.

Online Editors

The Left Wing - RWC Daily: End of an era as Ireland say sayonara to World Cup

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport