Sunday 22 April 2018

Houston strike ensures third victory in succession for Harps

Finn Harps 1 Galway United 0

Bray’s Gareth McDonagh battles it out with Ayman Ben Mohamed at Dalymount Park. Photo: Sportsfile
Bray’s Gareth McDonagh battles it out with Ayman Ben Mohamed at Dalymount Park. Photo: Sportsfile
A dejected Sean Houston of Finn Harps after the SSE Airtricity League Premier Division vs St Patrick's Athletic. Photo: Sportsfile
Shane Tracy of Limerick FC, in action against Josh Mailey. Photo: Sportsfile Newsdesk Newsdesk

A 70th-minute goal from Sean Houston last night gave Finn Harps their third Premier Division win on the bounce.

Houston placed a cross from Josh Mailey past Conor Winn in the Galway goal to score the only goal of the game following a move that also involved Tony McNamee and Dave Scully.

The win means that the Ballybofey side added to their recent 3-0 victory over Sligo Rovers and 2-0 success at Longford Town.

The first half was a tame affair with neither Richard Brush nor Winn being forced to make one save of note.

It was Galway who shaded that first 45 minutes, although they were far from dominant. The closest anyone came to breaking the deadlock was on 32 minutes, when Thomas McMonagle gave away possession with a pass from the back.

Jose Garcia set Vinny Faherty free down the right and with options inside - particularly Padraic Cunningham - the pull-back looked as though it was about to create the opening goal only for McMonagle to appear from nowhere and atone his original error.

Beside that, there were a couple of optimistic efforts. Cunningham had blazed over early on for the visitors and for the hosts, Keith Cowan rammed a free-kick into the Galway wall.

But the second half was a more open affair with both teams having their chances.

After Houston's goal, Galway were unfortunate not to get back on terms within three minutes when Colm Horgan drilled against the base of the Harps post when set up by Vinny Faherty.

But that was as close as the visitors would come to claiming an equaliser.

Galway have not won since their victory over Bray Wanderers on May 14 - a run of five matches.

FINN HARPS - R Brush; D McNulty, K Cowan, T McMonagle, J Mailey; A Hanlon, B Molloy, S Houston, T McNamee (R Foy 80); R Curran (R Keating 69), D Scully (K McHugh 87).

GALWAY UTD - C Winn; K Cantwell (G Shanahan 78), Paul Sinnott, S Folan, S Walsh; C Horgan, J Garcia, R Connolly, K Devaney; P Cunningham (E Curran 75), V Faherty.

Ref - R Rogers (Mullingar)

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport