Friday 20 April 2018

Champions to net €100,000

THIS year's Airtricity League champions will receive €100,000 for the achievement -- the same amount that Shamrock Rovers collected for their efforts last year.

The total prize-fund across the two divisions is unchanged but there are minor increases for clubs at the lower end due to the fact there are two fewer teams in the First Division.

The Premier Division runners-up will collect €45,000, while third place will pick up €25,000.

League director Fran Gavin defended the decision to proceed with an eight-team second tier for the new campaign at the official launch of the new season.

Amid persistent rumours that the FAI are moving towards having just one division, Gavin said that the future size of the league will be a decision for the association's board and the league authorities.

"There's no certainty about anything in life now and football is no different to anything else," he said.

Gavin reported that attendances across the country were up 2pc in 2011, but the specific figures in question were unavailable.

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport