| 8°C Dublin

Irish trio named in team of the year


Paddy Kenny Photo: Getty Images

Paddy Kenny Photo: Getty Images

Paddy Kenny Photo: Getty Images

Three Irishmen currently out of favour with Giovanni Trapattoni have been named in the Championship team of the year.

QPR goalkeeper Paddy Kenny, Reading veteran Ian Harte and Norwich playmaker Wes Hoolahan all had their fine form rewarded, although on-fire Shane Long missed out.

Kenny has enjoyed a terrific season and is in great form under Neil Warnock, with QPR just one win away from promotion to the Premier League.

Harte was in the League 1 team of the year last season while with Carlisle and has continued his fine form at a higher level this season.

Meanwhile, Tottenham winger Gareth Bale insists he will not rest on his laurels after receiving the Professional Footballers' Association Player of the Year award.

The 21-year-old was voted as the best player this season by his peers after a string of superb performances for Spurs in the Premier League and the Champions League. "I want to reach as high as I can really," he said.

"Obviously it is a massive honour to even be on the list on that trophy and only the fourth from Tottenham."

The Welshman had to make do with a place on the shortlist for the Young Player of the Year award, which was won by Arsenal's Jack Wilshere.

PREMIER LEAGUE TEAM OF THE YEAR: Edwin Van Der Sar (Manchester United), Bacary Sagna (Arsenal), Ashley Cole (Chelsea), Nemanja Vidic (Manchester United), Vincent Kompany (Manchester City), Nani (Manchester United), Samir Nasri (Arsenal), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal), Gareth Bale (Tottenham), Carlos Tevez (Manchester City), Dimitar Berbatov (Manchester United).

CHAMPIONSHIP TEAM OF THE YEAR : Paddy Kenny (QPR), Kyle Naughton (Leicester), Ashley Williams (Swansea), Wes Morgan (Nottingham Forest), Ian Harte (Reading), Adel Taarabt (QPR), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich), Andy King (Leicester), Scott Sinclair (Swansea), Danny Graham (Watford), Grant Holt (Norwich).

Irish Independent