Thursday 17 October 2019

Ireland's James Collins and Aiden McGeady make the League One Team of the Year

Sunderland's Aiden McGeady. Action Images/Lee Smith
Sunderland's Aiden McGeady. Action Images/Lee Smith Newsdesk Newsdesk

Promotion-chasing Barnsley dominate the Professional Footballers' Association League One Team of the Year.

Goalkeeper Adam Davies, defenders Dimitri Cavare and Ethan Pinnock, midfielder Alex Mowatt and 16-goal striker Kieffer Moore made the XI voted for by their fellow players.

Leaders Luton, meanwhile, have two representatives in the side, defender James Justin and forward James Collins. The latter scored his 24th league goal of the season in the 2-2 draw against AFC Wimbledon on Tuesday night.

The Hatters pulled clear at the top of the table following a 29-match unbeaten league run, which was finally brought to an end at Charlton on April 13, as Mick Harford's side look to secure a return to the Championship.

Play-off chasing Portsmouth have defender Matt Clarke and 14-goal winger Jamal Lowe in the PFA selection, while Sunderland, also in the hunt for promotion, see wideman Aiden McGeady included.

Doncaster striker John Marquis, who has scored 19 goals, completes the line-up, with Rovers looking to hold off their rivals and secure a place in the top six.

The players will be honoured at the PFA's annual awards ceremony in London on Sunday April 28.

PFA League One Team of the Year 2019: Adam Davies (Barnsley); Dimitri Cavare (Barnsley), Ethan Pinnock (Barnsley), Matt Clarke (Portsmouth), James Justin (Luton); Aiden McGeady (Sunderland), Alex Mowatt (Barnsley), Jamal Lowe (Portsmouth); James Collins (Luton), John Marquis (Doncaster), Kieffer Moore (Barnsley)

Online Editors

The Left Wing: Welcome to Irish rugby's biggest week - is an upset on the cards?

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport