| 2.2°C Dublin

UEFA Nations League - Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland and Wales will be in 'B' competition



Martin ONeill

Martin ONeill

Martin ONeill

Ireland's 1-0 victory in Cardiff on Monday has cost Wales a position in the top league of UEFA's new Nations League tournament.

Despite not qualifying for the World Cup either, the Netherlands will take their place in the 12-team 'A' league at the expense of Chris Coleman's side.

The Nations League sees the 55 European national teams divided into four groups dependant on their rankings, with the top 12 going into League A.

The Republic of Ireland, who beat Wales to get into the World Cup play-off, are also in League B with Northern Ireland.

England are in League A with Scotland in League C.


League A will consist of the 12 top-ranked teams. The next 12 teams will be in League B, the next 15 in League C and the remaining 16 in League D.



Leagues A and B will each comprise four groups of three teams.

League C will contain one group of three teams and three groups of four sides; League D will be formed by four groups of four teams.

Matches to be played home and away between September and November 2018 (teams will play four or six games depending on the size of their group).

The four group winners of League A will qualify for the UEFA Nations League Finals, to be held in June 2019, with two semi-finals, a third-place match and the final. One host country will be appointed by the UEFA Executive Committee in December 2018 from among the finalist teams.

The group winners in Leagues B, C and D will gain promotion and those who finish bottom of the groups in Leagues A, B and C will be relegated.

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

This field is required

Online Editors

Related Content