Saturday 21 April 2018

Noel King calls up four LOI players to U21 squad

Trevor Clarke of Shamrock Rovers
Trevor Clarke of Shamrock Rovers

Republic of Ireland U21 manager Noel King has included four players from the League of Ireland in his latest Ireland U21 squad.

Ryan Delaney (Burton Albion, on loan at Cork City), Trevor Clarke (Shamrock Rovers), Rory Hale (Galway United) and Ronan Curtis (Derry City) have all been called up to King's squad for the upcoming European qualifiers against Norway and Israel.

Ireland sit atop of Group Five after opening round wins over Kosovo and Azerbaijan. King's side will now face Norway in Tallaght next Thursday before taking on Israel four days later.

QPR winger Olamide Shodipo and Chesterfield midfielder Connor Dimaio make a return from injury while Aston Villa's Jake Doyle Hayes and Brighton and Hove Albion midfielder Dessie Hutchinson have also been called up to the squad.

Speaking on the announcement of the squad, King said: "We're really looking forward to next week. We go into the games top of the group and the squad have shown real promise in our first two matches.

"The challenge now is to keep those standards high and keep improving through what will be two difficult games. Both Norway and Israel have qualified for the European Championships in recent years so we need to be at our very best to get the positive results we require.

"As is the norm, we must now wait by the phone until the weekend is over and keep our fingers crossed everyone comes through from their games unscathed. I know the players are looking forward to the challenge ahead of them and hopefully with a good crowd at Tallaght Stadium as we look to get three wins in a row."

Republic of Ireland U21 squad to face Norway and Israel

Goalkeepers: Kieran O'Hara (Manchester United), Liam Bossin (Nottingham Forest).

Defenders: Danny Kane (Huddersfield), Ryan Sweeney (Stoke City, on loan at Bristol Rovers), Shaun Donnellan (West Bromwich Albion, on loan at Walsall), Declan Rice (West Ham United), Corey Whelan (Liverpool), Ryan Delaney (Burton Albion, on loan at Cork City), Trevor Clarke (Shamrock Rovers)

Midfielders: Josh Cullen (West Ham, on loan at Bolton Wanderers), Harry Charsley (Everton), Conor Shaughnessy (Leeds United), Liam Kinsella (Walsall), Jake Mulraney (Inverness Caledonian Thistle), Connor Ronan (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Olamide Shodipo (QPR), Connor Dimaio (Chesterfield), Rory Hale (Galway United), Jake Doyle Hayes (Aston Villa), Dessie Hutchinson (Brighton and Hove Albion).

Attackers: Reece Grego Cox (QPR), Ryan Manning (QPR), Ronan Curtis (Derry City), Joe Quigley (Bournemouth, on loan at Newport County).

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport