Wednesday 24 January 2018

Here is everything you need to know ahead of tomorrow's World Cup draw

Ireland will be in Pot Four for the World Cup draw
Ireland will be in Pot Four for the World Cup draw

The draw for the 2018 World Cup qualification campaign takes place in St Petersburg tomorrow at 1700 BST. Ireland have plummeted in the world ranking and will be in Pot Four.

The 52 European countries will be split into seven groups of six teams and two groups of five teams.

England, along with France, Germany, Italy, Spain and Holland, will be in a group of six teams at the request of UEFA in order to maximise television income.

Hosts Russia will qualify automatically.

The winners of each group will qualify for Russia 2018, while the eight best group runners-up will take part in a play-off in November 2017.

Seeding pots for the draw:

Pot 1: Germany, Belgium, Holland, Portugal, Romania, England, Wales, Spain, Croatia

Pot 2: Slovakia, Austria, Italy, Switzerland, Czech Republic, France, Iceland, Denmark, Bosnia-Herzegovina

Pot 3: Ukraine, Scotland, Poland, Hungary, Sweden, Albania, Northern Ireland, Serbia, Greece

Pot 4: Turkey, Slovenia, Israel, IRELAND, Norway, Bulgaria, Faroe Islands, Montenegro, Estonia

Pot 5: Cyprus, Latvia, Armenia, Finland, Belarus, Macedonia, Azerbaijan, Lithuania, Moldova

Pot 6: Kazakhstan, Luxembourg, Liechtenstein, Georgia, Malta, San Marino, Andorra


When is the draw?

A: It's due to start at 4pm BST - barring any intervention by protesters or BBC3 comedians - and is taking place at the Konstantin Palace in St Petersburg, with Russia the host country for the 2018 finals.

Q: How will the European groups look?

A: There will be 52 of the 53 UEFA members in the draw - all except Russia who qualify as hosts. They will be split into seven groups of six teams and two groups of five. UEFA has asked that England be placed in a group of six. The teams in each group will play each other home and away between September 4, 2016 and October 10, 2017.

The nine group winners will qualify for the finals, while the eight best group runners-up will contest four play-off ties in November 2017 with the winner of each also going to Russia.

Q: What else is happening?

A: There will also be draws taking place for various stages of qualifying in the South American, African, CONCACAF and Oceania sections. The Asian draw is well under way already.

South America will have a minimum of four teams in the 2018 finals, with the fifth-placed team from its all-in league system facing a play-off. Africa will have five finalists, CONCACAF (which features North American, Central American and Caribbean nations) will send at least three and Asia will have at least four. Oceania will have one representative at most in the finals.

Q: Anything else?

A: FIFA secretary general Jerome Valcke will conduct the draw alongside 'supermodel and philanthropist' Natalia Vodianova and TV presenter Dmitry Shepelev.

Vodianova told "As a mother of four children, I know just what the World Cup means. I am sure that on 25 July many football fans all over the world will be inspired not only to support their teams on the road to 2018, but will also enjoy learning more about my country."

FIFA is expecting 2,000 guests representing 140 member nations, plus around 700 media representatives, to be at the draw.

Press Association

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport