Monday 19 August 2019

Confirmed pots for the 2018 World Cup in Russia

Peru's players celebrate their victory
Peru's players celebrate their victory

After a dramatic two weeks of international football, next summer’s World Cup has taken shape. 32 nations have now qualified for next summer's tournament.

The usual suspects have qualified – from Brazil to Germany, England to France – but there are a number of high-profile national sides who have missed out.

Here, we provide a definitive lowdown on the World Cup qualifiers and much more:

Countries that have qualified

Russia: The hosts qualified when they won the chance to host the competition back in Dec 2010.

Brazil: CONMEBOL round robin winners, qualified way back on March 28, 2017

Iran: AFC third round group A winners

Japan: AFC third round group B winners

South Korea: Runners-up to Iran in Group A

Saudi Arabia: Runners-up in Group B

Mexico: North and central America and Caribbean round 5 winners

Belgium: Uefa group H winners (first European team) who qualified on Sept 3

Germany: Sealed their place as Group C winners after beating Northern Ireland 3-1 in Belfast

England: Gareth Southgate's side beat Slovenia at Wembley to secure their spot in Russia as winners of Group F

Poland: Poland became to fourth European team to qualify having dropped points in just two games in Group E

Costa Rica: Reached their fourth World Cup finals with a game remaining from their CONCACAF qualification group

Nigeria: Became the first side from Africa to reach Russia and have now missed just one tournament – Germany 2006 – since first qualifying 1994

Egypt: Mohamed Salah scored twice to send the north Africans into their first finals since 1990

Iceland: Have qualified for their first ever World Cup, pipping Croatia to a guaranteed place in Russia

Serbia: Winners of Group D

Spain: The 2010 champions qualified as Group G winners finishing five points ahead of Italy

France: Qualified as winners of Group A

Portugal: Beat Switzerland in their final qualification game to reach next summer's finals

Panama: Reached their first World Cup after beating Costa Rica in the final group game of their qualification campaign

Argentina: Lionel Messi scored a hat-trick in his side's final qualification game to secure their place in the finals

Uruguay: Finished second to Brazil in their group to secure their place in the finals

Colombia: Took the fourth and final automatic qualification spot in the South American group

Senegal: CAF Group D winners

Morocco: CAF Group C winners

Tunisia: CAF Group A winners

Switzerland: Won two-leg play-off with Northern Ireland

Croatia: Won two-leg play-off with Greece

Sweden: Won two-leg play-off with Italy

Denmark: Won two-leg play-off with Republic of Ireland

Australia: Defeated Honduras in a two-leg play-off

Peru: Secured last place with victory over New Zealand in two-leg play-off

Confirmed pots

Online Editors

The Throw-In All-Ireland Hurling Final preview: Can Tipp's firepower edge clash with the Cats?

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport